Friday Finds – Aug 28

This Friday I’m featuring 3 teen memoirs which sound like fun. Besides, I love the covers too. I don’t remember where I’ve seen them. So sorry cannot link it anywhere.

emilyEmily by Emily Smucker
Emily’s the sick one . . . all of the time.
Plagued with some sort of cold or fever or bizarre aches and pains for much of her life, Emily thought the dizziness and stomachaches at the start of her senior year were just another bout of “Emily flu.” But when they didn’t go away, she knew something was seriously wrong. Eventually diagnosed with the rare and incurable West Nile virus, Emily watched her senior year and the future she had planned for go up in smoke.
“I want a normal life for a teenager. I want to ache from a long day at work. I want to be so busy that I don’t have time to post on my blog. I want to run the race of life instead of being pushed along it in a wheelchair. I want to be on the ride of my life, you know?”

marniMarni by Marni Bates
Marni pulls. Pulls her hair, that is.
Unable to deal with the mounting stress at home, in school, and with friends, Marni’s compulsion to pluck out her eyebrows, eyelashes . . . even the hair from the top of her head, helped her to quiet her mind and escape the pressures of the world around her.
Marni first began pulling the summer just before entering high school, and she was immediately hooked. Unfortunately, by the time she discovered that her habit was an actual disorder—trichotillomania or “trich”—it was way too late. “When I stared at the mirror and tried to recognize the girl without eyebrows, eyelashes, and bangs as myself and failed, I knew something had gone horribly wrong.”

chelseyChelsey by Chelsey Shannon
Chelsey was dealth the unthinkable.
When Her Only Surviving Parent, her beloved father, was violently murdered days before her fourteenth birthday, Chelsey’s life was forever changed. As she was forced to come to terms with a new home life, a new school . . . a new identity as an orphan, Chelsey struggled to make sense of her personal tragedy. Yet she found a way to flourish despite all the odds.
“I thought of myself in a new light: a girl, newly fourteen, standing in her dead father’s study, all in black, a single tear streaming down her cheek. I was alone. My family told me again and again I was not, but without him, I was. I was no longer anyone’s child.”

Thats it for now. This Friday finds is driving me crazy, I just want to list every alternate book 🙂

9 thoughts on “Friday Finds – Aug 28

  1. Before I read the post, I originally thought the books were part of a series written by the same author. These look good. I especially, like the idea of teens telling their stories, and hopefully, helping other teens going through the same thing. Hope you have fun reading them, when you get the chance to.

    ~ Popin

  2. Hi! I’m the editor of this series of teen-authored memoirs, Louder Than Words! I’m glad you all like the covers. If you’re interested in reading excerpts, watching the book trailer, or reading the author’s blogs, you can visit the website here: http://www.louderthanwordsbooks.com.

    And we did live videochats with all the authors two weeks ago, but you can watch the archived videos of the chats here: http://www.kyte.tv/louderthanwordstv

    I hope you love the books!

    XOXO Deborah Reber

Leave a Reply

