Ice by Sarah Beth Durst

Title: Ice
Author: Sarah Beth Durst
Source: Library
Genre: Young Adult
Set in: Alaska
Awards: 2009 Andre Norton Award Finalist
Rating: 3.75 out of 5

My thoughts:
Ice was another YA fantasy that was praised across the internet and one that I had high hopes for. I wont say I was disappointed completely but I had major problems with the first half to really enjoy the novel as a whole.

Ice is a retelling of the Norse folktale called East of the Sun and West of the Moon. While the folktale itself is awesome, I had the same problems with this book that I had with Shiver. Lets get to the story first.

Cassie thought that her mom died when she was very young. But later she comes to know that her mom is actually alive and trapped in the Troll castle at the end of the world called East of the Sun and West of the Moon. When the polar Bear king approaches her, she makes a pact with him. She will agree to marry him only if he brings her mother back from the Troll castle.

Now here is my first problem. How can Cassie marry a polar bear and even if she does I don’t understand her attraction towards him. I mean seriously, how can you fall in love with a bear?

Although there are explanations, I couldn’t really get into the book for the first half because I had so many questions. After I got over the fact that she could fall in love with a bear, the book came together for me.

The second half was amazing where Cassie has to travel to the Troll castle to rescue her husband, the bear King. Ms Durst can make you feel like you were present in the Icy Alaska. I’ve never thought that miles and miles of ice could be beautiful before reading this book. The end was awesome and really imaginative.

I do recommend this book because I know that not many people will have the problems that I had with this book. Read it if you love YA or fantasy or folk tale retellings.

10 thoughts on “Ice by Sarah Beth Durst

  1. I’ve read a few good reviews on this book, but just didn’t pick it up. After reading your review, I don’t think I’m in a rush of buying it. Thanks for your honest review, Violet!

  2. We liked totally different things in the book .Didn’t we ? LOL You loved running , I didn’t 🙂

    Any ways I think it was quite fun but could have been better ..

  3. The cover of this book makes me think of Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials. I love the idea of stories based on fairy tales so I looked the origin of this book up and it sounds a good one. I suppose with the love story you just have to suspend belief, though that’s easier said than done.

  4. East of the Sun, West of the Moon is my favourite fairy tale, so I’ve been meaning to get my hands on this. I don’t think I’d have trouble suspending my belief about the love story, so hopefully I’ll enjoy it more than you.

  5. And then she wakes up and realizes that the bear was actually her teddy bear that her godfather the mysterious clockmaker gave her on Christmas, although with a really trippy dream, right?

  6. hehe…good question you pose here. How can someone be attracted to a bear??

    There are a number of popular books falling within this fairy-tale sort of sub-genre. Somehow, I can’t drum up enough enthusiasm for them.

Leave a Reply

